Unicyclist Community

Go Back   Unicyclist Community > Unicycling Discussion > General Unicycling Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 2008-04-30, 01:47 AM   #1
MuniAddict
UniGeezer - Not "2" Tired
 
MuniAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Age: 63
Posts: 14,694
Thumbs up New brake location on T7

I wanted to relocate my brake lever on my 36er's T7, but to fit it *below* the "T" wouldn't work-until I found the lever, pictured below! I got a pair of them for just $15 at my LBS. I like this new location better for a couple of reasons.

I'm less apt to accidently squeeze the lever when going to grab the handle. I can now use the same length cable when I get the new coker handle, since that configuration uses the underside of the saddle for mounting the lever, instead of the bars. Oh, and I MUCH prefer this 36er to the new Big One I recently had..and sold! Not that there's anything wrong with it. I think the new coker is a great uni, but I just prefer my Rockin' Radial!

Name:  DSC03386.JPG
Views: 368
Size:  482.4 KB

Name:  DSC03385.JPG
Views: 465
Size:  546.5 KB
__________________
Happy Birthday Terry! Every year you get cooler, younger and unicyclier!
Be our muniprohpet for many years more.
-Dani Buron


Website
Videos
Facebook

Last edited by MuniAddict; 2008-04-30 at 01:49 AM.
MuniAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-04-30, 02:02 AM   #2
$unidude$chad$:)
Wonders uni club:):):):)
 
$unidude$chad$:)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: MYANUS
Age: 25
Posts: 220
Send a message via AIM to $unidude$chad$:)
soa~weetness i wish i had a cool ride liek that to attract all the ladies like terry does
__________________
$unidude$chad$:) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-04-30, 02:17 AM   #3
onelesscar
I get places on 75% fewer wheels
 
onelesscar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Irvine / Modesto
Age: 32
Posts: 1,130
How do you squeeze the lever in that position? It's not anywhere close to your hands...

And I have to say, I've never accidentally grabbed the lever going for my handlebar. Is that a common problem?
__________________
Now a self-employed world traveler.
onelesscar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-04-30, 02:36 AM   #4
MuniAddict
UniGeezer - Not "2" Tired
 
MuniAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Age: 63
Posts: 14,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by onelesscar
How do you squeeze the lever in that position? It's not anywhere close to your hands...

And I have to say, I've never accidentally grabbed the lever going for my handlebar. Is that a common problem?
Haha, no I haven't actually engaged the lever, but have come close a couple times. I also wondered if the new, lower location would pose any access problems, but to my surprise, it works out great!

I only use the brake on rare ocassions, but when I want to use it, my hand seems to find it as naturally as if were mounted under the front of the saddle, as it is very close to that position. So, no problems. (I also really like the way it looks now a lot better than before lol!)
__________________
Happy Birthday Terry! Every year you get cooler, younger and unicyclier!
Be our muniprohpet for many years more.
-Dani Buron


Website
Videos
Facebook

Last edited by MuniAddict; 2008-04-30 at 02:37 AM.
MuniAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-05-04, 08:03 PM   #5
unicyclist.ca
Coming soon...
 
unicyclist.ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 234


I did a similar thing but I opted for a long "old school" lever for more control.
__________________
http://www.Unicyclist.ca
unicyclist.ca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-05-04, 09:16 PM   #6
chuckaeronut
Lover of Geared 36ers!
 
chuckaeronut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 32
Posts: 323
Send a message via AIM to chuckaeronut
Hope it works out for you, Terry! I really like to easily and automatically just extend my fingers from their resting positions to grab the brake and slow down at stop lights or hills. I'm sure that either position will be completely "automatable" so you don't have to think about it to use it, and can use it well, but... I think that brake position would drive me nuts Although, that's probably only because I've gotten so used to my handle where it is (on the right-hand handle of the T7, very conventional location)
__________________
Uni to work to eat to live to uni to work to...!
chuckaeronut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-05-04, 10:07 PM   #7
joemarshall
dumb blonde
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belper, Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 2,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by MuniAddict
Haha, no I haven't actually engaged the lever, but have come close a couple times. I also wondered if the new, lower location would pose any access problems, but to my surprise, it works out great!

I only use the brake on rare ocassions, but when I want to use it, my hand seems to find it as naturally as if were mounted under the front of the saddle, as it is very close to that position. So, no problems. (I also really like the way it looks now a lot better than before lol!)
Don't you ride downhills, where you need the hand constantly on the brake to go fast?

Joe
joemarshall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-05-04, 11:09 PM   #8
unicyclist.ca
Coming soon...
 
unicyclist.ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 234
I live in the mountains and I use my brake all the time for descending hills and slowing down, I never really thought of having it for "emergency" situations until when I had to use it fast yesterday on account of almost running over a very dense dog...
__________________
http://www.Unicyclist.ca
unicyclist.ca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-05-04, 11:16 PM   #9
MuniAddict
UniGeezer - Not "2" Tired
 
MuniAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Age: 63
Posts: 14,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by joemarshall
Don't you ride downhills, where you need the hand constantly on the brake to go fast?

Joe
I ride mostly on flat, smooth beach bike paths that go for 24 miles each way, and so I rarely have a need for the brake. My hand is pretty big though, and I have long fingers that make it very easy to reach the brake.

This position is only temporary unitl I get my new coker touring handle, which will allow mounting the brake under the front of the seat, like on my MUni. The T7 *single* bar is in the way and won't allow for mounting the lever under the saddle.
__________________
Happy Birthday Terry! Every year you get cooler, younger and unicyclier!
Be our muniprohpet for many years more.
-Dani Buron


Website
Videos
Facebook

Last edited by MuniAddict; 2008-05-04 at 11:18 PM.
MuniAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-05-04, 11:28 PM   #10
unicyclist.ca
Coming soon...
 
unicyclist.ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 234
What are those brake levers called?
__________________
http://www.Unicyclist.ca
unicyclist.ca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-05-05, 01:27 PM   #11
capuni
Perry
 
capuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Albany, NY
Age: 47
Posts: 106
Send a message via MSN to capuni Send a message via Yahoo to capuni
I got the idea to use friction shifters from someone else on the forum. Here's my setup. The shifters work so much better for me then the traditional brake lever. On long descents, I just set the appropriate drag and pedal on without having to worry about keeping hand pressure on a lever. No more bump and throw.

Attached Images
   

Last edited by capuni; 2008-05-05 at 01:29 PM.
capuni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-05-05, 01:30 PM   #12
Triball
Pimped out
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Slovenia
Age: 29
Posts: 1,320
I got the brake on the lower part. I have right between the two hole thingies. It works out great
__________________
Pay for you gas or loose your ID
Triball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-05-05, 11:39 PM   #13
MuniAddict
UniGeezer - Not "2" Tired
 
MuniAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Age: 63
Posts: 14,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by capuni
I got the idea to use friction shifters from someone else on the forum. Here's my setup. The shifters work so much better for me then the traditional brake lever. On long descents, I just set the appropriate drag and pedal on without having to worry about keeping hand pressure on a lever. No more bump and throw.
Does that friction shifter accept the same cable as the brake lever, or do you need a different cable? And if I go to my LBS, would I ask specifically for a "friction shifter", or is there another name for them?
__________________
Happy Birthday Terry! Every year you get cooler, younger and unicyclier!
Be our muniprohpet for many years more.
-Dani Buron


Website
Videos
Facebook

Last edited by MuniAddict; 2008-05-05 at 11:40 PM.
MuniAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-05-06, 12:59 AM   #14
capuni
Perry
 
capuni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Albany, NY
Age: 47
Posts: 106
Send a message via MSN to capuni Send a message via Yahoo to capuni
Quote:
Originally Posted by MuniAddict
Does that friction shifter accept the same cable as the brake lever, or do you need a different cable? And if I go to my LBS, would I ask specifically for a "friction shifter", or is there another name for them?
It's a different cable. Same gauge, just a different end. You LBS will know what a friction shifter (thumb shifter) is. You just want to make sure it's friction, not indexed. They're really inexpensive and you may be lucky enough to get your hands on a used one for a couple of dollars.

You're looking for something like this. http://aebike.com/page.cfm?PageID=30...ils&sku=LD1243

Keep in mind there is a left and a right, so you'll want to think about where this is going to be mounted and how you want the lever to rotate.

Last edited by capuni; 2008-05-06 at 01:00 AM.
capuni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2008-05-06, 04:03 AM   #15
XCcrev
Learning Crankflips
 
XCcrev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Age: 28
Posts: 223
Hmmm I wonder if you could have both a friction shifter and a brake. I would find that combination very useful. I dont know if it is possible cable-wise though.
__________________
!!Video!!
Subdivisions (Youtube)
Subdivisions (Vimeo)
XCcrev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake, location


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Camera, New pedals and new enthusiasim doamono Unicycling Videos 11 2008-04-22 12:51 AM
Bent T7 rails CoreTechs General Unicycling Discussions 13 2008-03-28 03:53 PM
T7 Question Russtynail General Unicycling Discussions 5 2007-12-14 04:59 PM
T7 for XC? 412 General Unicycling Discussions 9 2007-12-08 01:13 PM
GB4 and a brake? Where to mount a brake w/ handle set up? siafirede General Unicycling Discussions 2 2007-11-23 09:33 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 2001-2019 Gilby
Page generated in 0.08486 seconds with 12 queries