Unicyclist Community

Go Back   Unicyclist Community > Unicycling Discussion > General Unicycling Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 2010-05-22, 08:55 PM   #1
Freecloud

Talking My first 36" Unicycle: Nimbus Nightrider Pro

I've been riding a Torker CX 24" for the last two years and I just took the first ride on my new Nightrider Pro 36" unicycle and all I can say is "Wow!".

The Nightrider tire rides so smooth and the extra speed is amazing. I love being able to feel the wind in my face as I ride!

It took me about 10-15 minutes of getting the feel for it and getting my confidence up. I learned quickly that I had to lean forward more than with the 24". Pretty soon I was zipping around the neighborhood with no problem.

I went with the Qu-ax 145mm ISIS crank arms which are a little shorter than the standard 152mm that I'm used to. This together with the size and weight of the 36" wheel makes it a little more challenging to accelerate or to slow down on a sleep hill, etc. Hopefully a little more leg strength will compensate for this.

I didn't focus too much on free mounting, however, I was able to land one free mount which boosted my confidence a bit. I've been watching some UniGeezer videos on mounting a 36er which has helped. Any advice will certainly be appreciated! Which free mount technique is the easiest one to learn first?

The standard gel saddle is a ten-fold improvement over my Toker CX seat. I feel like my weight is more evenly spread over the seat. I'll see how it does for longer rides and decide if I want to upgrade it later to a KH fusion or something.

Overall, I love my new Nightrider Pro and I can't wait to put many, many miles on it!

Dan

Getting the feel for it...

One of my first test rides...
Freecloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2010-05-22, 10:45 PM   #2
Klaas Bil
Sir Prince of Newsgroupia